No eating, no drinking, no kissing…..

This night Ramadan starts. After about 3 o’clock in the morning till a few minutes before 10 o’clock in the evening (sunset) there will  be no eating, no drinking, no kissing. And this for 30 days.  I think this Ramadan is for me the 6th time or maybe 7th time. For some people its difficult to understand why we are fasting. I can understand that, because on a normal day my stomach also starts to make funny sounds at 12 o’clock. But Ramadan is different. It’s a mindsetting. Believe me every year I think ”oh no maybe it’s to difficult”. But every time it turns out fine. I remembered my first time that I wanted to try what it feels like to fast during Ramadan. It was the time that I was exploring the Islam, not feeling it totally yet. I think maybe it was the third day. Oh I was so hungry that I bought secretly a banana and ate it somewhere in a corner where nobody saw me. So funny if I think about it.

Maybe you think,”Mmmm I don’t know, poor people don’t have a lovely meal in the evening to break their fasting. Maybe Ramadan is a little bit hypocritical.”

Maybe you are right. We will never know how its like to be real poor and don’t have foot for days. Our Ramadan days are nothing comparing real poorness. But the way  I experience it, they are days of self-discipline and patience and very important it lets you realize again that nothing is self-evident. Of course, everyone knows that but still…

For everyone who is celebrating Ramadan, Ramadan mubarak!

image by Melanie El Haddad, sunset in Marrakech

About Melanie el Haddad

I'm 37 years. I have a passion for beautiful Moroccan design. I'm in love with my daughter of five. The best thing there is, your own beautiful girl. I have a webshop called El Ramla Hamra. Creating a mix of Moroccan craftmanship and contemporary elegance is my mission. It is great to use your passion. Creative entrepreneurial. Something truly your own. I love writing. There is so much in the world that can inspire me from everyday events into beautiful interior items. I hope you to give a little inspiration with my blog.
This entry was posted in Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No eating, no drinking, no kissing…..

  1. Pingback: My Caravan of DreamRamadan

  2. Anonymous says:

    Kan mij de eerste ramadan ook goed herinneren de eerste Harira…verschrikkelijk dacht hij word niet dik dus nog een klein beetje bloem erbij vijf minuten later kon de pollepel er rechtop in blijven staat….dat was dus geennsoep ik dacht dat hoef ik niet te leren gelukkig gaat het nu met gemak

  3. Desiree says:

    Goede ramadan gewenst voor jullie 😉

Leave a comment